Durango Renewal Partnership (URA)

Board Overview

Durango’s Urban Renewal Authority – known as the Durango Renewal Partnership – is a public redevelopment organization authorized to carry out urban renewal projects. Urban Renewal Authorities have access to a set of tools not available to municipal governments to encourage and incentivize redevelopment.

The Durango Renewal Partnership works with community organizations to identify areas in need of assistance. Our model sees neighborhood character, public participation, historic buildings, natural features and other attributes as assets for shaping redevelopment and positive change. The Durango Renewal Partnership was formed into existence on May 5, 2020 by Council vote. If you have a question or a comment for this board, please fill out this form.

The mission of the Durango Renewal Partnership is to facilitate reinvestment in underutilized areas to address community priorities and create thriving places. The Durango Renewal Partnership is comprised of nine Board members and is housed with the City's Community Development Department. Learn more about the Partnership's Organizational Structure, Finances, and Strategic Plan Framework and view past meeting minutes of the Durango Renewal Partnership Board.

Please view the Durango Renewal Partnership Formation Plan and Supporting Documents (PDF). This comprehensive report will function as a guide for our recently formed Urban Renewal Authority. The report includes: (1) an overview of Urban Renewal Authorities with FAQs; (2) an initial vision, mission statement, and priorities for the organization; (3) a list of potential activities that the URA can undertake; (4) letters and resolutions of support from partner agencies and community organizations; and (5) the required legal documents to establish the Durango Renewal Partnership.

At a Glance

Established ByResolution 2020-10
Number on Board5 members of Durango City Council
1 elected member of Durango 9-R School District Board of Education
1 elected member of the Business Improvement District Board
1 appointee of the La Plata County Board of County Commissioners
1 mayoral appointee 
Length of Term1-5 years
Staff LiaisonScott Shine, Planning Manager
Regular Meeting TimeSecond Monday of every month at 5:40 pm
Regular Meeting LocationCouncil Chambers

Current Members

Olivier Bosmans, Council MemberN/AN/A
Kim Baxter, ChairN/AN/A
Barbara Noseworthy, Vice ChairN/AN/A
Melissa Youssef, Council MemberN/AN/A
Jessika Buell, Council MemberN/AN/A
Mike Segrest, La Plata County AppointeeMay 2020May 2023
Andrea Parmenter, 9-R Board MemberMarch 2021May 2022
John Mahoney, BID Board MemberMarch 2021May 2022
Carrie Woodson, Mayoral AppointeeJune 2021May 2026
Scott Shine, Staff LiaisonN/AN/A