Explore Durango

Go To Search
Facebook
Twitter
Today's Weather

Garbage Collection
Residential & Commercial Services
The City of Durango provides residential and commercial garbage collection and recycling services within the city limits. The City strives to provide residential and commercial customers with high-quality and cost-effective service.

Trash containers must be in the alley or curbside (if no alley is available) for pickup on your scheduled garbage pickup day by:
  • Commercial - 6:00 am
  • Residential - 8:00 am

Garbage & Recycling Collection Schedule for 2019 Holidays
City Holiday Day of the Week Collection Date
Martin Luther King Jr Day  Monday, January 21
Monday, January 21
Presidents' Day  Monday, February 18 Monday, February 18
Memorial Day Monday, May 27 Monday, May 27
Independence Day  Thursday, July 4 Thursday, July 4
Labor Day  Monday, September 2 Monday, September 2
Veterans Day Monday, November 11 Monday, November 11
Thanksgiving Day  Thursday, November 28 Friday, November 29
Thursday, December 5*
Day after Thanksgiving  Friday, November 29 Friday, November 29
Christmas Eve
Tuesday, December 24 Tuesday, December 24
Christmas   Wednesday, December 25 Thursday, December 26
New Year's Day Wednesday, January 1, 2020 Thursday, January 2
Wednesday, January 8**

* Thanksgiving Day (Thursday, November 28) commercial trash and recycling, residential curbside trash will be collected the day after Thanksgiving (Friday, November 29.)

Thanksgiving Day residential recycling will be collected the week after Thanksgiving on Thursday, December 5.

**New Year's Day (Wednesday, January 1) commercial trash and recycling, residential curbside trash will be collected the day after New Year's Day (Thursday, January 2.)

New Year's Day residential curbside recycling will be collected the week after New Year's Day on Wednesday, January 8.

This schedule is subject to change. Please check the Holiday Press Release located on the main page for the most up-to-date information.

Check your scheduled garbage and recycling pickup days to see if the altered Holiday Schedule affects you.

Durango Transfer Station
 
The Durango Transfer Station is operated by WCA / Transit Waste. To contact the transfer station, please call (970) 259-2915. The transfer station is open from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm Monday through Friday, and from 9:00 am to 1:00 pm on Saturday.

Resources